

House of Delegates – Annual Session May 30- 31, 2025 – Long Island Marriott, Uniondale, New York

The first meeting of the 2025 NYSDA House of Delegates was called to order at 11:00 a.m. on Friday, May 30, by Dr. William Karp, NYSDA Speaker.

Speaker Karp appointed Luis Mauleon (6), Jean DiFlorio (5) and Patricia Swanson (S) as the Minutes Approval Committee

Dr. Seth Farran, Chair, Committee on Credentials, Rules and Order (CRO), reported that a quorum was present. On behalf of CRO, Dr. Farran moved the following resolutions:

Resolutions

Resolution 1 Adoption of Agenda Adopted

Attorney Client Resolutions

- AC-1 Adopted
- AC-2 Adopted

Motion to Adjourn until 12:45 pm Friday, May 30th Dr. Devin Klein (S).

The second meeting of the 2025 NYSDA House of Delegates was called to order at 1:00 p.m. on Friday, May 30, by Dr. William Karp, NYSDA Speaker.

Dr. Prabha Krishnan, President, addressed the House of Delegates. Report on file.

Dr. Rehka Gehani, 2025 Committee on Annual Sessions, oral report.

Mr. Michael Herrmann, NYSDA Executive Director, addressed the House of Delegates

Dr. Rich Rosato, ADA President-Elect, addressed the House of Delegates

Dr. Seth Farran, Chair, Committee on Credentials, Rules and Order (CRO), reported that a quorum was present. On behalf of CRO, Dr. Farran moved the following resolutions:

• Resolution 2 Reference Committee Referral of Resolutions Adopted

Dr. Anthony Cuomo, Chair, Council on Nominations, presented the Council's report:

The following were uncontested elections; and declared elected by the Speaker:

• Dr. Maurice Edwards (New York County Dental Society) automatically ascends to the office of President.

- Dr. Amarilis Jacobo (Bronx County Dental Society) for the office of President Elect
- Dr. Lynn Stacy (Fifth District Dental Society) for the office of Vice President

The following were elected as Trustees to the New York State Dental Association for four-year terms ending 2029:

- Dr. James Jacobs (New York County)
- Dr. David Ramjattansingh (Seventh District)
- Dr. Martin Dominger (Suffolk County)

Dr. Amarilis Jacobo presented the Report of the Board of Trustees. Report on file. Dr. Jacobo moved the following resolutions on behalf of the Board:

- Resolution 3 Nominations to NYSDA Councils **Adopted**
- Resolution 4 Nominations to American Dental Association House of Delegates Adopted

Award Recognition

• Dr. Guenter Jonke, NYSDA 2025 Mark J. Feldman Distinguished Service Award

Reports

- Dr. Paul Leary, Secretary-Treasurer, oral report
- Dr. Brendan Dowd, 2nd Trustee District of the ADA, oral report
- Ms. Stacy McIlduff, New York State Dental Foundation, oral report
- Dr. James Jacobs and David Shipper, 2026 Committee on Annual Sessions, oral report.

Motion to Adjourn until 1:00pm Saturday, May 31st by Dr. Lauren Heisinger at 3:45p.m.

The third meeting of the 2025 NYSDA House of Delegates was called to order at 1 p.m. on Saturday, May 31st by Speaker Karp.

The House of Delegates elected

- Dr. Paul Leary (Suffolk County Dental Society) for the office of NYSDA Secretary-Treasurer
- Dr. Payam Goudarzi (Sixth District Dental Society) for the office of Second District Trustee to the American Dental Association

Dr. Farran Chair, Committee on Credentials, Rules and Order (CRO), reported that a quorum was present. reported that the Reference Committee report was posted on the NYSDA website and that the report was sent electronically to all members of the House.

Resolutions

Priority item

• Resolution 30 - 2025 Preliminary Budget Adopted

Resolutions

- Resolution 5 Referred to Council CDEL, CDP, CDHPHD as amended 5S
- Resolution 6 Withdrawn
- Resolution 7 Referred to the Council on Dental Practice
- Resolution 8 Adopted as amended 8RC
- Resolution 9 Referred to Council CDEL, CDP, CDHPHD as amended 9S
- Resolution 10 Adopted as amended 10RC
- Resolution 11 Moot
- Resolution 12 Withdrawn
- Resolution 13 **Defeated**
- Resolution 13B Adopted as amended 13B-S
- Resolution 14 Adopted
- Resolution 15 Adopted
- Resolution 16 Adopted as amended 16S
- Resolution 17 Withdrawn
- Resolution 18 **Adopted**
- Resolution 19 Adopted as amended 19S
- Resolution 20 **Adopted**
- Resolution 21 Adopted as amended 21RC-S
- Resolution 22 Moot Ruled out of order
- Resolution 23 Withdrawn
- Resolution 24 Withdrawn
- Resolution 25 Referred to a Special House Committee
- Resolution 26 Withdrawn
- Resolution 26S **Defeated**
- Resolution 27 **Defeated**
- Resolution 28 Adopted
- Resolution 31 Adopted

Special Orders of Business

- Resolution 33 2026 Final Budget Adopted
- Resolution 29 Dues of Active Members Adopted

Awards

Mr. Bernard Hackett & Ms. Amy Pozzi received the ADA Honorary Membership Award
Dr. Brett Kessler (ADA President)

Recognition Awards

Plaque Presentations to Outgoing Trustees, presented by President Dr. Prabha Krishnan

- Dr. Lois Jackson (New York County)
- Dr. Theresa Casper-Klock (Seventh District)
- Dr. Guenter Jonke (Suffolk County)
- Dr. Anthony Cuomo (Ninth District/NYSDA Immediate Past President)

Installation of New Trustees by Dr. Prabha Krishnan

- Dr. James Jacobs (New York County)
- Dr. David Ramjattansingh (Seventh District)
- Dr. Martin Dominger (Suffolk County County)

Plaque Presentations to Outgoing Council Chairs by Dr. Prabha Krishnan

- Dr. Raquel Rozdolski, Council on Dental Health Planning and Hospital Dentistry
- Dr. Mario Silvestri, Council on Dental Practice
- Dr. Paul Teplitsky, Council on Ethics
- Dr. Kendra Zappia, Council on Membership and Communications

Award presentations to outgoing President Dr. Prabha Krishnan

- American Dental Association lapel pin Dr. Brett Kessler
- NYSDJ Cover Mr. Michael Herrmann

Installation of Officers by Dr. Prabha Krishnan

- Dr. Paul Leary, Secretary-Treasurer
- Dr. William Karp, Speaker
- Dr. Lynn Stacy, Vice President
- Dr. Amarilis Jacobo, President Elect
- Dr. Maurice Edwards, President

Address of President Maurice Edwards

ADPAC Report – Dr. Michael Shreck and Dr. Vera Tang

Motion to Adjourn by District 2 ASDA Trustee Josh Velasquez Meeting adjourned sine die at 3:30 p.m.

Text of all resolutions on file.

These Minutes were unanimously approved by the NYSDA Minutes Approval Committee:

Luis Mauleon (6) Jean DiFlorio (5) Patricia Swanson (S)