May 2025-H 215
Council on Nominations

DIRECT

Report No. 4 New ■ Substitute □ Amendment □ Submitted By: Council on Nominations Reference Committee □ Direct to House ■ Date Submitted: April 10, 2025 Total Financial Implication: \$ none Amount One-time \$ none Amount On-going \$ none

Report of the Council on Nominations

The Council on Nominations met on Tuesday, March 12, 2025, by Zoom. Minutes of the meeting are on file in the NYSDA Headquarters office, and have been distributed to the Board of Trustees and to component presidents, presidents-elect, executive directors and council chairs.

4 5 6

7

8

9

10 11

1

2

In accordance with Chapter VI, Section 30 of the *Bylaws*, a "Call for Nominations" describing the elective offices to be considered by the 2024 House of Delegates and the eligibility requirements thereof was published on the NYSDA website and in the January 2025 issue of *The New York State Dental Journal*. All nominations received were evaluated to determine if the nominee was eligible for the office being sought in accordance with Chapter VI, Section 20 of the *Bylaws*. The following reflects the recommendations of the Council:

12 13

Candidates for Elective Offices:

14 15 16

President-elect: The name of Dr. Amarilis Jacobo (Bronx County Dental Society) was duly submitted as a candidate for the office of President-elect, and she was deemed eligible to serve by the Council on Nominations.

18 19 20

21 22

17

Vice President: The names of Dr. Lynn A. Stacy (Fifth District Dental Society) and Margaret Madonian (Fifth District Dental Society) were duly submitted as candidates for the office of Vice President, and they were deemed eligible to serve by the Council on Nominations.

232425

26

27

Secretary-Treasurer: The names of Dr. Paul R. Leary (Suffolk County Dental Society) and Dr. Frederick W. Wetzel (Fourth District Dental Society) were duly submitted as candidates for the office of Secretary-Treasurer, and they were deemed eligible to serve by the Council on Nominations.

28 29 30

31

32

33

ADA Trustee: The names of Dr. Maurice L. Edwards (New York County Dental Society); Dr. Payam Goudarzi (Sixth District Dental Society); and Dr. Prabha Krishnan (Queens County Dental Society) were duly submitted as candidates for the position of ADA Trustee and they were deemed eligible to serve by the Council on Nominations.

May 2025-H

Council on Nominations

DIRECT

35 **Recommendations for Elective Offices:** 36 37 President: Dr. Maurice L. Edwards (New York County Dental Society) automatically 38 ascends to the office of President at the next installation, in accordance with Chapter VI, 39 Section 70 of the Bylaws. 40 41 President-elect: Dr. Amarilis Jacobo (Bronx County Dental Society) was nominated 42 43 for the office of President-elect. 44 Vice President: Dr. Lynn A. Stacy (Fifth Dental Society) was nominated for the office 45 46 of Vice President. 47 Secretary-Treasurer: Dr. Paul R. Leary (Suffolk County Dental Society) was nominated 48

for the office of Secretary-Treasurer.

34

49