Back to NYSDA News

You are here

March 10, 2017

Satisfy the new opioid mandate easily online

 

Satisfy the new opioid mandate easily online

 

Under a new NYS law, dentists who have a DEA registration number to prescribe controlled substances must complete at least three (3) hours of course work or training in pain management, palliative care, and addiction. 

The course work/training must be completed by July 1, 2017, and once every three years thereafter, pursuant to Public Health Law (PHL) §3309-a(3). Your NYSDA Foundation is now offering this fully approved course online, allowing you the option to take it at your leisure in your home or office over se

This course fulfills the mandate and counts as 3 hours of live CE towards your required 60 hours of CE every three years. Upon completion, your credits will automatically be added to your NYSDA Continuing Education Registry and you’ll be able to print a certificate of completion.

At $75 for NYSDA members, NYS Requirements for Prescribing Opioid Drugs is a reasonable alternative to live courses on the same subject matter, and what’s especially beneficial is the fact that it allows the ability to take the course in multiple settings, as opposed to doing so all in one three-hour shot.

Finally, taking NYS Requirements for Prescribing Opioid Drugs benefits the public, too, while promoting the fact that dentistry is a caring and healing profession. Proceeds will go toward oral health outreach programs, including the 2017 NYS Veterans Smile Initiative.

The New York State Dental Foundation is an ADA CERP Recognized Provider Approved. ADA CERP is a service of the American Dental Association to assist dental professionals in identifying quality providers of continuing dental education. ADA CERP does not approve or endorse individual courses or instructors, nor does it imply acceptance of credit hours by boards of dentistry. The New York State Dental Foundation designates this activity for three (3) hours continuing education credits.

All News >

News from NYSDA

Reminder: Renew Annual Electronic Prescribing Exemption 

Prescribers who issue 25 or fewer prescriptions in a twelve-month period can be exempted from the electronic prescribing requirement. The exemption applies both to prescriptions for narcotic and non-narcotic drugs and must be renewed annually.

Satisfy the new opioid mandate easily online

Under a new NYS law, dentists who have a DEA registration number to prescribe controlled substances must complete at least three (3) hours of course work or training in pain management, palliative care, and addiction. 

Avoid the Million Dollar Mistake - HIPAA Security Compliance: Protecting Your Patients, Your Practice, And Yourself

NYSDA’s Information Technology Committee has developed a 3-hour HIPAA Security Compliance course.